Latest News Headlines

Buhari’s ally Mustapha replaces Saraki as Turaki of Ilorin


Saliu Mustapha, a long-standing supporter of the President, Muhammadu Buhari (retd.), has been appointed as the Turaki of Ilorin by the Emir, Ibrahim Sulu-Gambari.

The honorary title, which was beforehand held by the Sarakis, was bestowed on Mustapha a vibrant occasion on Thursday.

The occasion met after the Emir had paid the annual conventional Sallah homage to the governor on the Government House, Ilorin.

The late Olusola Saraki as soon as held the title earlier than he was elevated to the place of a Waziri. His son and a former Senate President, Bukola Saraki, stepped into the daddy’s sneakers to bear the title between 2006 and 2018.

The youthful Saraki was later turbaned as the Waziri, succeeding his father for the second time.

Mustapha is the founder of Saliu Mustapha Foundation and a chieftain of the All Progressives Congress.
In 2009, when a breakaway faction of the ANPP led by Muhammadu Buhari shaped the Congress for Progressive Change, Mustapha was the nationwide deputy chairman, a place he held till the celebration merged and shaped APC.

While asserting the brand new honorary title holders, Sulu-Gambari stated solely these deserving of a title must be given one.

Read Also

“If somebody is contributing to the event we have now to provide him a title. Only somebody deserving of a title is conferred one. It is our manner of appreciating their efforts.

“Another person we all know that expends all his resources in the Ilorin emirate and its affairs — His title is ‘Turaki’ of Ilorin. He is Saliu Mustapha,” the monarch stated.

Also, Mutabali of Ilorin was bestowed upon the state Governor’s elder brother, Dr Alimi AbdulRazaq.

The title was final held by his late father and the primary commissioner of Finance within the state, AbdulRazaq Ganiyu Folorunsho, who died final 12 months.

Others honoured on the occasion embody Ilorin-born Islamic students; Sheikh Farouq Suleiman Onikijipa, Professor Yakubu Aliagan and Sheikh AbdulRahman Sholagberu.

Sheikh Faruq Onikijipa was honoured as the Grand Mufti of Ilorin and Waziri Yakubu Gobir as Dawaki of Ilorin; Alhaji Saka Onimago as Shetimma of Ilorin; Alhaji Abubakar Kawu Baraje as Tafida of Ilorin; and Alhaji Kawu Agaka as Dan Iya of Ilorin.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.